Project

General

Profile

Actions

Bug #11166

closed

OpenVPN Client installer behaviour when OpenVPN 2.5 is already installed

Added by Gregory Guilmette 12 months ago. Updated 12 months ago.

Status:
Rejected
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
OpenVPN Client Export
Target version:
-
Start date:
12/15/2020
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Plus Target Version:
Affected Version:
Affected Plus Version:
Affected Architecture:
All

Description

Former versions of OpenVPN Client Export allowed for the distribution of the installer that handled pre-existing instalations of OpenVPN. Previously, if OpenVPN was already installed, it was upgraded or (if it matched) the installed automatically skipped to the installation of the attached configuration.

The release of 2.5 is confusing to less-technical end users.
During the installation, when an existing instance of 2.5 is on the computer;
1) the upgrade or modify/repair options are grey and not selectable.
2) assuming we do not want to uninstall (the only selectable option), it's not obvious how to proceed.
3) in order to proceed, you must press "esc" and OK the fact you are aborting the installation of the client.
4) after stopping the installation of the client, the CONFIG installation then starts it's installation.

I preferred the (<= 2.5) mode where the client skipped the installation if already installed and simply applied the OpenVPN config. end users did not need to make a decision that is above their knowledge or comfort level.

Being presented with only the "Uninstall" option and no indication to press escape to bypass the client install is a challenge.

Actions #1

Updated by Jim Pingle 12 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Rejected
  • Priority changed from Very High to Normal
  • Target version deleted (2.5.0)
  • Affected Version deleted (2.5.x)

The OpenVPN client Windows installer changed to an MSI, nothing we can do about that. Request changes upstream in OpenVPN directly.

Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF