Project

General

Profile

Bug #3680

disabling an interface which is part of an interface group puts another (arbitrary) interface into the group instead

Added by Lukas Zeller almost 5 years ago. Updated almost 5 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Web Interface
Target version:
Start date:
05/26/2014
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Affected Version:
2.1.x
Affected Architecture:

Description

Preconditions:
- Assume WAN interface W and VLAN interfaces A,B,C configured.
- Assume an interface group called G which consists of A,B,C

Now go to Interfaces -> B and set interface B to disabled.

Expected behaviour would be that either B remains part of G, or alternatively is removed from G

Actual behaviour is that in place of B, another interface is put into G. In my case it was the WAN interface, so the group G had A,W,C in it after disabling B (with quite messy consequences for the operation of the firewall in my case, as many rules for VLANs were defined based on G, which now became active on the WAN interface as well. Had a lot of fun until I found out what was wrong...)

I assume the interface that is put in place of the disabled interface in the group is just the first from the list (which was the WAN IF in my case).

Associated revisions

Revision 6e73977b (diff)
Added by Renato Botelho almost 5 years ago

Show disabled interface when it was already part of interface group, it avoids to show a random interface instead and let user to add it by mistake. It should fix #3680

Revision 22ed6e3e (diff)
Added by Renato Botelho almost 5 years ago

Show disabled interface when it was already part of interface group, it avoids to show a random interface instead and let user to add it by mistake. It should fix #3680

History

#1 Updated by Renato Botelho almost 5 years ago

I couldn't reproduce it on 2.1.3 and 2.2 recent snapshots. When an interface is disabled, it's removed from group, and re-added when it's re-enabled.

#2 Updated by Lukas Zeller almost 5 years ago

I can reproduce the problem in my 2.1.3 productive installation (tried again right now to verify), but I see now there's another step involved:

I had a closer look at what happens in the config.xml - apparently disabling an interface does nothing to the list of interfaces in the group (the disabled interfaces remains listed, which appears ok to me).

However, when opening the Interface Groups Edit page (interfaces_groups_edit.php), at the list position where the disabled interface was before, the popup definitely shows the first interface in the system instead now.

My guess is that because the interface is not active, the popup lookup fails and shows the first interface instead of something like "<disabled>". So far, no harm done, but if I now press "Save" in the Groups Edit page, the current (wrong!) value of the popup will be saved and now that first interface erroneously gets member of the group and ruins the day :-)

Does that make sense?

#3 Updated by Renato Botelho almost 5 years ago

  • Target version set to 2.2

#4 Updated by Renato Botelho almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Feedback
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

#6 Updated by Trond Vindenes almost 5 years ago

Tested on "2.2-ALPHA (amd64) built on Thu Aug 14 06:56:40 CDT 2014".
1. Created an interface group.
2. Disabled one of the interface members.
3. Edited the interface group. The disabled interface is still visible and selected in the edit interface group. Clicking Save is also no issue, the correct interfaces are still members.

Issue seems resolved :)

#7 Updated by Renato Botelho almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Resolved

Also available in: Atom PDF