Deleting interface leaves remnant in interface groups
Beta4 snapshot from Tue Aug 24 01:26:38 EDT 2010, deleting an interface (OPT5 in my case) that was a member of interface groups (3 of the four IGs I have) leaves "opt5" (lowercase) displaying in the group(s) it was a member of on the IG overview page. When I click Edit on one of the groups, however, OPT5 does not appear in the list of interfaces in the group, and if I Save without making any changes, the "opt5" disappears from the list of interfaces in that group.
Updated by David Szpunar almost 11 years ago
This bug still exists, I just tested it on the most recent snapshot from this afternoon. I created an interface (opt10), assigned it a static IP, created an Interface Group and added it and another already-existing interface to the group. Then I deleted the opt10 interface. When I viewed the Interface Groups page, it still shows "opt10" in the list of interfaces in the group I had created (using the lowercase actual name, opt10, not the display name I'd set for the interface originally). When I clicked Edit on the group, it showed the still-existing interface (correctly), and a second interface (WAN in this case) which was never a part of the group selected as the second interface of the group (opt10 was no where to be found at this point).
My expectation of the UI is that when I delete an interface, it will no longer show up as a member of the interface group it was a member of before I deleted it.
Updated by Ermal Luçi almost 11 years ago
- Status changed from New to Feedback
Well this is indirectly resolved by the latest commit(referenced to this issue to).
link_interface_to_group() function was not reporting correctly so you were able to delete teh interface.
Normally you are not able because it will not allow you to delete an interface that is part of a group.
I am not sure if things like this should be hard checked at boot time for consistency.