Feedback on Backup and Recovery — Restoring from Backups
On the "Restore area" section of the page, include a note/warning specifying the following:
When restoring a specific area, additional restore steps may not be executed that would otherwise be ran when restoring a full configuration backup.
#2 Updated by Jim Pingle 30 days ago
- Status changed from New to Feedback
#3 Updated by Marcos Mendoza 29 days ago
My intent was to hint towards the potential issue of restoring a specific area (e.g. openvpn) and not having upgrade steps take place on that area that would otherwise be executed through a full restore or release upgrade. For example, when restoring only the OpenVPN config area from 2.4.5p1 to 2.5, the resulting config is slightly different than if upgrading pfSense.