Project

General

Profile

Bug #6613

Interface mismatch allows applying changes without saving them

Added by Adam Piasecki over 3 years ago. Updated over 3 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Backup / Restore
Target version:
Start date:
07/14/2016
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Affected Version:
All
Affected Architecture:

Description

When selecting Apply Changes after fixing a interface mismatch. The button does not save the changes, and asks again after reboot. Please reference ticket #6610. Selecting Save does save the changes, but this is not what the dialog box is telling the user to do. Apply Changes did work in 2.2.X

1-Initial Mismatch.JPG (77 KB) 1-Initial Mismatch.JPG MisMatch After Restoring Config Adam Piasecki, 07/14/2016 10:15 AM
3-Apply Changes.JPG (75.6 KB) 3-Apply Changes.JPG Refreshed Screen after hitting Apply Changes Adam Piasecki, 07/14/2016 10:15 AM
2-Fix Mismatch.JPG (70.8 KB) 2-Fix Mismatch.JPG Fixing the Interface Mismatch Adam Piasecki, 07/14/2016 10:15 AM
4-Boot Mismatch.JPG (101 KB) 4-Boot Mismatch.JPG On Bootup the old interfaces are still in the config. Adam Piasecki, 07/14/2016 10:15 AM

Associated revisions

Revision 1602106b (diff)
Added by Phillip Davis over 3 years ago

Fix #6613 Do not show Aply Changes button when Save needed

I got a bit carried away in the fix for #6460 https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/commit/21c18c3df11547aba172c10f95872dbd8682f7d9
The message here at line 507 should not actually show the Apply Changes button. At this point the user needs to adjust the assigned interfaces and save. Then after saving an Apply Changes button can be used to implement the saved changes.

Revision 42f47efc (diff)
Added by Phillip Davis over 3 years ago

Fix #6613 Do not show Aply Changes button when Save needed

I got a bit carried away in the fix for #6460 https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/commit/21c18c3df11547aba172c10f95872dbd8682f7d9
The message here at line 507 should not actually show the Apply Changes button. At this point the user needs to adjust the assigned interfaces and save. Then after saving an Apply Changes button can be used to implement the saved changes.

History

#1 Updated by Phillip Davis over 3 years ago

The Apply Changes button is being shown too early in the workflow.
PR https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3058 should fix that, and hopefully clarify the message text so that it is clear that the user needs to adjust the assigned interfaces and save. Then use the Apply Changes button that is shown after saving.

#2 Updated by Adam Piasecki over 3 years ago

Phillip Davis wrote:

The Apply Changes button is being shown too early in the workflow.
PR https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3058 should fix that, and hopefully clarify the message text so that it is clear that the user needs to adjust the assigned interfaces and save. Then use the Apply Changes button that is shown after saving.

The way it worked in 2.2.X was when you hit apply changes it saved and rebooted the pfsense at the same time. When you have a interface mismatch you will most likely be changing the interface and/or IP your accessing the pfsense from. So the workflow how you have it would require you to hit save, re-access the pfsense using the new IP/Interface, then hit apply changes. An Apply changes that saves and reboot is more desirable.

#3 Updated by Chris Buechler over 3 years ago

  • Subject changed from Restore Config Interface Mismatch Apply Changes to Interface mismatch allows applying changes without saving them
  • Status changed from New to Feedback
  • Target version set to 2.3.2
  • Affected Version changed from 2.3.1 to 2.3.x

merged, thanks Phil.

#4 Updated by Phillip Davis over 3 years ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

#5 Updated by Phillip Davis over 3 years ago

"The way it worked in 2.2.X was when you hit apply changes it saved and rebooted the pfsense at the same time."

Hmmm - I had a quick look at the back-end processing code from 2.2.* before making that fix above. The code seems the same on 2.2.* and 2.3.* but maybe I missed something in how it used to work?

I am not in a position to do any realistic test of this at the moment. Maybe Chris or someone from ESF can check out what used to happen and what is now happening?

#6 Updated by Chris Buechler over 3 years ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Resolved
  • Affected Version changed from 2.3.x to All

works, now doesn't allow applying until after you save, so people can't get confused.

This same bug actually goes back a long time. In 2.2.6 and well before that, it's exactly the same behavior as 2.3.x prior to Phil's fix. If you just hit "apply changes" without first hitting save, it reboots without saving the re-assignment.

Thanks Phil!

Also available in: Atom PDF