Project

General

Profile

Actions

Bug #9674

closed

hidden OpenVPN settings are validated and written to file

Added by Wayne Marsh over 2 years ago. Updated about 2 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Category:
OpenVPN
Target version:
Start date:
08/06/2019
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Plus Target Version:
Release Notes:
Affected Version:
Affected Architecture:

Description

I had two instances where configurations not visible on the OpenVPN server creation window were affecting saving the server and the running of the server.

I am configuring a client and server for "peer to peer ( pre-shared key )" on two separate pfSense installations. The first issue arose while configuring the client.

Client issue:
The authentication username and password on the "peer to peer ( tls/ssl )" server mode option. The password did not match so it would not save. Checking server mode to "peer to peer ( pre-shared key )" to "peer to peer ( tls/ssl )" made the username and password fields available. Clearing out these, allowed me to save the client.

Server issue:
This was regarding the "duplicate-cn" option in the /var/etc/openvpn/server1.conf. Again, server mode was configured for "peer to peer ( pre-shared key )" however, the "Duplicate Connection" checkbox visible in the "peer to peer ( tls/ssl )" server mode configuration screen was checked. I changed the server mode to "peer to peer ( tls/ssl )", unchecked the checkbox. Once I set the server mode back to "peer to peer ( pre-shared key )" and saved it, the server daemon started without issue.

Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF