Project

General

Profile

Feature #4035

AutoConfigBackup - selective deletion of automatic and manual backups

Added by Phillip Davis over 4 years ago. Updated over 2 years ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
AutoConfigBackup
Target version:
-
Start date:
11/22/2014
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

The list of 100 backups kept automatically tends to mostly be full of uninteresting stuff, e.g. we add all LAN clients to static-mapped DHCP when they come into the network, so there are lots of changes like that which are not interesting from an overall critical config management perspective.
It is nice to do a before-and-after manual config backup from AutoConfigBackup when doing more critical changes. But those manual backups soon go off the end of the 100 backups due to all the auto backup "noise".
Suggestion:
1) Recognise 2 types of backup:
a) automatically generated from routine pressing "Save" in the webGUI
b) manual from using AutoConfigBackup "Backup now" tab

2) Provide a setting for "Number of manual backups to keep" - if not specified, then keep current behavior of keeping last 100 backups of anything. If specified, then always keep at least this many manual backups, purging old automatic backups earlier.

It would also be nice to be able to, from the Restore tab, select multiple backups and delete all the selected backups in 1 go. That would provide a quicker way to get rid of some rubbish backups. At the moment you can take the full cleanout approach on the Stats tab and delete all backups for a host, then do a manual backup to start over.

History

#1 Updated by Chris Buechler over 4 years ago

  • Category set to AutoConfigBackup

#2 Updated by Jim Thompson over 2 years ago

  • Assignee set to Steve Beaver

Also available in: Atom PDF